Call Us +234 817 1750 304

 Benue State University, Makurdi



Benue State University was established in 1992/93 session. This was to encourage the development of high level manpower to meet the needs of the state, the country and the world at large. The first Civilian Government of Benue State, His Excellency, Mr. Aper Aku, who was inaugurated 1979, conceived the idea of a university for Benue State. Others like the former Military Administrator of Benue State, Lt. Col. Fidelis Makka inaugurated a 13 member steering committee in 1991, with Dr. I.D. Agogo as his SSG/HOS. However, it was the second Civilian Governor of Benue State, Rev. Fr. Moses Orshio Adasu that established the university in 1992/1993 academic session. The university took off with four faculties:
* Faculty of Arts
* Faculty of Education
* Faculty of Science
* Faculty of Social Sciences;
With an initial student enrolment of 308 undergraduate and 582 Remedial students.

Copyright © Benue State University 2024. All rights reserved.
Powered by Directorate of ICT, BSUM