Call Us +234 817 1750 304

 Benue State University, Makurdi

Department of Public Administration

About the New Department of Public Administration

The Public Administration Degree programme was established in the 2012/2013 academic session in response to popular demand and has grown within a very short time to become a course of first choice for students all over the country. Degrees offered in the Department are anchored by qualified and committed academics in line with prescribed curriculum and standards.

The Department is focused on inculcating candidates with values of hard work, dedication, honesty, and integrity in the management of human resources of both public and private sectors. The new Department currently offers programmes for B.Sc Public Administration, M.Sc Public Administration, Master of Public Administration (MPA). Both the Postgraduate and Undergraduate Programmes which have graduated over 3000 students were housed under the Department of Political Science until the creation of the Department of Public Administration in January 2024. Dr Timothy I. Utile was appointed the pioneer Head of Department. Currently, the Department has over 1,400 students on roll.

Philosophy of the Programme

In a nation grappling with the challenges of development, the need to train a corps of administrators endowed with the requisite skills for the efficient management of both human and material resources becomes a categorical imperative. Besides, the crusade against corruption requires public servants who are honest and dedicated in carrying out their duties. The task of accomplishing these objectives falls on public administration as a training programme.

Consequently, the philosophy of Public Administration is to train accountable, transparent, efficient, honest and dedicated personnel as well as policy makers committed to the eradication of corruption in public life and dedicated to the cause of development in Nigeria.


The vision of the Department is to inculcate skills and values of transparency, honesty and accountability and ultimately develop into renowned institute of excellence for teaching and research in the field of Public Administration in Nigeria in particular and the world at large.


The mission of the Department is to produce high quality graduates with sound knowledge in Public Administration that can compete favourably in both the public and private sectors in our contemporary society; to produce men and women who would imbibe the spirit of transparency, honesty, probity, accountability and professionalism to adequately face the challenges of effective management of men and women at local, state and federal levels and to be able to stand on their own (self-reliance) in the dynamic labour market.


The objectives of the Department of Public Administration are as follows:

  1. To provide the basic knowledge needed for understanding and analysis of issues and events related to the administration and management of both public and private organizations.
  2. To equip students with the skills needed for recognizing and defining problems and taking appropriate decisions using scientific techniques and tools.
  3. To inculcate in students an awareness of and sensitivity to environmental factors and conditions and their impact on managerial/administrative practices and decisions.
  4. To help the students develop leadership and interpersonal skills, which are needed for working with people worldwide.

Staff List

S/N Name Qualification Rank Status
1 Timothy I. Utile B.Sc, ADPM, M.Sc, PhD (HOD) Senior Lecturer Tenure
2 Akase Paul Sorkaa B.Sc. M.Sc. PhD Professor Contract
3 Terkura Tarnande B.Sc. M.Sc. PhD Professor Tenure
4 Timbee Akuul B.Sc, M.Sc, PhD Professor Tenure
5 Pauline Akpa NCE, B.Ed. PGDPA, MPA, PhD Associate Professor Tenure
6 Atah Pine B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A. PhD, PhD Associate Professor Tenure
7 Mercy Erdoo Fiase B.Sc. M.Sc. PhD Lecturer I Tenure
8 Justina Sorkaa B.Sc., M.Sc. Lecturer I Tenure
9 Paul A. Ejembi LLB. LLM. PhD Lecturer I Tenure
10 Benjamin T. Tough B.Sc. M.Sc., PhD Lecturer I Tenure
11 Atonko Matthew LL.B, LLM. PhD Lecturer II Tenure
12 Emmanuel T. Yandela B.A., M.Sc. Assistant Lecturer Tenure
13 Abel D. Apinega B.Sc. M.Sc. Assistant Lecturer Tenure

Copyright © Benue State University 2024. All rights reserved.
Powered by Directorate of ICT, BSUM